#T5W TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Fandom Items/#OWLCRATE April 2018 Unboxing: Shadows and Secrets


Since this week's Top 5 Wednesday is about discussing our favorite fandom items, I combined this prompt with my first-ever Owlcrate unboxing for "Shadows and Secrets".

For those who don't know what Top 5 Wednesday is, it's a weekly book group about our top five favorite things in the middle of the week. 

Created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey and now hosted by Samantha from ThoughtsonTomes, this week's entry describes our top 5 favorite fandom items. 

April 25: Favorite Fandom Items-- Whether it's something you own or something you are lusting after, what are some of your favorite fandom items/merch/memorabilia? Your picks don't all have to be from the same fandom!




I was curious as to how this unboxing would turn out, considering this was my first. This box is said to appeal to fans of Six of Crows, The Mortal Instruments, Harry Potter, and The Young Elites. I've only known The Mortal Instruments and Harry Potter, so I tried a sample/gift buying instead of a monthly subscription to test it and see which items and book I'd like. And I'm happy to say I'm pretty pleased with this first box. My favorite fandom items so far:

Exclusive Shadowhunter soap from 'Three Sisters Apothacary by Soap Cauldron -  This soap smells so good!!! I haven't opened the mini-box, but I already know I'll be using this soap right away. 

Harry Potter pencil set / Owlcrate collaboration with Jubilee Designs -  These are red, yellow and blue individual pencils that have Potter quotes on them. The red one says, "I solemnly swear that I am up to no good. The yellow, "Mischief managed." The blue, "Property of the Half-Blood Prince". I graduated from college last September so I really have no need for pencils lol. But these are so cute!!


Jamila Mehio's vinyl sticker of Adelina from The Young Elites -  At first, I didn't know who or what this was until I'd read the spoiler card. I've never read Young Elites; I have no idea what that is. But the sticker is adorable! 

Dark chocolate & sea salt coffee from Bones Coffee Company -  This flavor was made exclusively for Owlcrate members, and it smells incredible! I'm not much of a coffee drinker but I do like to have a cup of it when I need the extra boost. Plus, at the bottom of the coffee bag is an Owlcrate exclusive coupon code for new users on Bones Coffee Company's website. 


Exclusive 'Crooked Kingdom' pillowcase designed by Stella Bookish Art -  The quote on the pillowcase says, "When you can't beat the odds, change the game." Again, I've never read Crooked Kingdom (or anything by Leigh Bardugo!) but this pillowcase is just so pretty!!! I hope it's silk because I can only sleep on silk pillowcases... 

Other fandom items from this box:


  • Owlcrate exclusive excerpt booklet of Legendary by Stephanie Garber - I haven't read Caraval, the first book in the series (surprise, surprise!) so I don't know how to feel about getting this new excerpt... I guess I'll just keep it for memorabilia. 
  • Ace of Shades by Amanda Foody (Owlcrate cover) - The official book of the month! I've heard of this book, but don't know what it's about. The cover looks like something out of House of Cards, or Alice in Wonderland. It seems very dark and mysterious, which is outside of my comfort zone of reading, but a little adventure never hurt nobody! 
Which fandom items do you enjoy most? Did you order Owlcrate's Shadows and Secrets April box? Comment below with your favorite items from the box! 

No comments